Vegan Carrot + Ginger Soup

My love affair with carrot ginger soup started in England, when I was around 13 or 14. Before tetra paks became a popular way to package premade soup, the British were packing soup in milk cartons and keeping them on the refrigerated shelves of the supermarket. For whatever reason, this is a distinct memory of mine from childhood – going to grandma and grandad’s house in England and eating soup out of a milk carton instead of a can. Anyway, my favorite flavor which I could never get in America was carrot ginger. Now, it seems, this flavor has gained popularity and is available everywhere, though none of the soups I’ve ever purchased have been as good as the vegan version I made for dinner last night.

Hungry Bruno had mentioned in her CSA Week Twelve post that our carrots from our Stone Soup Farm CSA were a bit woody this week. I thought this would be a perfect opportunity to boil them up and obliterate them with an immersion blender along with some ginger to recreate one of my favorite childhood food memories. When I was browsing the internet for inspiration, I found that almost every recipe for this soup contained dairy. Not understanding this, or thinking it was necessary, I went ahead and made my own vegan version. I had about 1/4 of a can of coconut milk in my fridge so I decided to use that to make the soup creamier, and it really worked. The end product was silky and delicious. To make it a little bit more filling, I cubed up some firm tofu I had leftover from making fresh spring rolls for a party this weekend and mixed it in.  It works either hot or cold, so it’s a versatile summer or winter soup. Delicious!

Vegan Carrot + Ginger Soup
Makes 3-4 servings

9-10 Medium Carrots, peeled and roughly chopped*
1 Medium Onion, roughly chopped
1 Shallot, roughly chopped
3 tbsp Fresh Ginger, roughly chopped
3 cloves Garlic, roughly chopped
2 tbsp Canola Oil (or whatever you want to use)
2 cups Vegetable Broth
1/4 cup Coconut Milk
Salt and Pepper to taste

* Keep in mind that the smaller you cut your carrots, the shorter your cooking time will be. Won’t make any difference in the flavor! Also, don’t bother with making them pretty – remember, they’re going to end up puréed anyway.

1. Heat a medium saucepan over medium heat, add oil, and then add onion, garlic and shallot. Let them sweat a few minutes, and then add the carrots and ginger.

2. After the carrots and ginger have sautéed for a few minutes, add the coconut milk and vegetable broth.  Bring the mixture to a boil and cover. Cook until the carrots are fork tender. For me, this was about 15 minutes. But again, this depends on how big you cut your carrots!

3. Once your carrots have cooked through, take the pot off the heat and allow it to cool down a bit before blending. Once cool, blend the mixture until thick and creamy using an immersion blender on the lowest setting. A regular blender can also be used, but make sure to be careful! Hot liquids in blenders have a tendency to expand, and you may end up covered in soup. Work in small batches if you’re using a stand blender.

I used tofu, but this soup would be great garnished with chives or scallions, and if you aren’t vegan a little dollop of greek yogurt would be delicious on top!

Enjoy! 🙂

2 Responses to Vegan Carrot + Ginger Soup

  1. Adrienne says:

    Ah, genius! I’ve been letting the woody carrots languish in the crisper thinking maybe I could resuscitate them as pickles, but this is a way better idea. And hey, thanks for the shout-out!

  2. Elise says:

    Thank you SO much for this recipe! Got a boatload of carrots in my CSA last week and this is the perfect solution.

Leave a Reply

